About Fanlisting Site Home



Full Name: Dean Ray Koontz.
Date of Birth: July 9, 1945, Everett, Pennsylvania.
Residence: Orange (Orange Hills), California.
Education: Shippensburg State Teachers College, Shippensburg Pennsylvania.
Career: Teacher-counselor with Appalachian Poverty Program, 1966-67; High school English teacher,1967-69; Full-time writer, 1969-present
Family: Gerda, married October 15, 1966. No Children.

Dean Koontz was born and raised in Pennsylvania. His childhood was filled with turmoil and abuse, his father being an alcoholic who was prone to violent outbursts and was eventually diagnosed as being mentally ill. Koontz, being an only child with a mother who was prone to illness, developed his own survival strategies to cope with the horrors of his home life. Books became a large part of this, as he found that they could take him into a better world. As a child Koontz desired to create this same escape for others, to give them a world to step into when their own became too harsh. Most of his novels written later contained characters who were or had been troubled children, as well as the underlying theme that that those who embrace friendship, love, faith and an unwavering commitment to freedom will inevitably win out over those who are motivated by power, envy, and greed. (more)




Koontz used several pseudonyms when establishing his career. Four of the main names he used were Leigh Nichols, Brian Coffey, K.R. Dwyer, and Owen West. Editors and agents insisted that he use a different pen name each time he published a differing type of work from the last, telling him that "readers always wanted pretty much the same book from an author every time, and because I refused to write to formula, they wanted me at least to group books of similar narrative style under the same pen name." Of course the work stood on it's merrits, and Koontz's career blossomed to what it is today. He no longer uses pen names.

"Dean R. Koontz" was the name that appeared on all his earlier books but on all later books it is simply "Dean Koontz." The reason for this was simply to accomodate the artwork for the books. Koontz was told that the "R" always looked out of place.

Star Quest (1968)
Fear that Man (1969)
The Fall of the Dream Machine (1969)
The Dark Symphony (1970)
Hell's Gate (1970)
Soft Come the Dragons (1970)
Dark of the Woods (1970)
Beastchild (1970)
Anti-Man (1970)
Demon Child (1971)[as Deanne Dwyer]

Trixie Books
Life is Good (with Trixie Koontz)
Christmas is Good
Bliss to You
I Trixie, Who is Dog
A Big Little Life
Trixie & Jinx
I, Trixie who is dog (iPad App) with artwork by Janet Cleland
Trixie and Jinx (iPad App) with artwork by Janet Cleland

Frankenstein Books
City of Night
Prodigal Son)
Dead and Alive
Prodigal Son (Graphic Novel)
Lost Souls

Comics & Manga
In Odd We Trust
Frankensteins: Prodigal Son (Graphic Novel)
Odd is on Our Side (Graphic Novel)
Dean Koontz's nevermore (comic book
House of Odd (Graphic Novel)
Fear Nothing, Volume 1 (Graphic Novel)

Odd Thomas Series
Odd Thomas
Forever Odd
Brother Odd
Odd Hours
Odd Interlude
Odd Apocalypse
In Odd We Trust
Odd is On Our Side
House of Odd